top of page
Search
Writer's pictureRusticrootedmama

Photoshoot Perfection: Boho Woodland 1st Birthday Photoshoot

Updated: Dec 3, 2022



If you’re here because you're looking for Inspiration to assemble the perfect Boho Woodland themed Birthday Photoshoot for your little one, or if you just found your way over from Pinterest, either way, you’re in the right place, Welcome!


First Birthday pictures are something special that we’ll cherish forever. For me even more so considering that I— myself, put a lot of time and thought into this “Ideal” Boho Woodland setup. (Not including Our AMAZING Photographer who did a PHENOMENAL Job, and my wonderful and supportive Hubby who helped me while I ran around like a mad woman with his debit card. Haha!)


So, To help out my all my Mamas out there, Below I have listed and linked everything I used in this Photoshoot, even down to the outfit! I linked a few alternatives with similar, if not cheaper, prices! I have even linked some items I didn't use and I wish I had, so now you can! Let's get right on into it, Shall we?


The Tepee Tent


I chose this Tent of MANY after scrolling through Amazon’s wide variety of tepees! It was a decent price compared to the others like it. I personally love the lace accents and the cream color, it definitely gives off the PERFECT boho vibe I was searching for!


BUT— If you’re looking for more of a plain tepee tent say…maybe for a boy, they have many options to choose from! Like this one that is ALSO more budget friendly; LINK: https://a.co/d/fy8Vc8y


OR Maybe you’re looking for a cheaper option of the one I originally linked for a more girlie Tepee Tent! Check out this one!; LINK: https://a.co/d/chQDWjC




Amazon LINK to this EXACT Tepee Tent: Lace Indoor Outdoor Toddler Childrens Teepee Tent https://a.co/d/daa16bD



The Arrow, Lantern, and Letters




I picked up this vintage off-white Lantern at hobby lobby, they had several to choose from but the look and style of this one just felt magical, and I knew it would make for a great woodland style prop! I also picked up this wooden arrow found in the nursery decor section for a fair price I figured it would make for a good side prop, though I was tempted to buy two and use for the top of tent, I thought they were a bit too bulky for that!

TIP ---- I also checked out my local antique shops around town for a lantern, they had great affordable options but I couldn’t turn down the one I had originally went with! Antique stores can be a great overall place to look for budget friendly props and decor!


Lucky you! Here’s the SAME exact Lantern on Amazon for a lower cost!

Amazon Lantern LINK: https://a.co/d/eC3YV1m


While I was at Hobby Lobby, I also picked up some super cheap letters to spell out the age my daughter was turning (“ONE”). They have all different sizes for under $2 each!

TIP— Be sure whatever the letters will be up against, contrasts the color you pick, vice versa! (I use the same rule when picking an icing color for the smash cake!)


Walmart and Amazon typically have Letters similar to these as well, depending on what you’re looking for! If you can’t find the color or pattern you desire, you could always get extra crafty and paint them yourself!


Letter ‘O’ LINK:


Letter ‘N’ LINK:


Letter ‘E’ LINK:


The Tent Toppers


Tent Toppers are a MUST! I personally used artificial flowers and an artificial frosted leaf vine from Walmart! I have the garland linked below as well as a few alternatives because the vine garland options are endless, but I feel that the floral bouquet is a personal preference, and also needs to match the setting you have chosen! I simply went to the florist section of Walmart and played around with some different individual flowers and small accent bouquets until I was happy with the result! If you feel you're not crafty or creative enough to come up with your own, Walmart typically has ready to go bouquets! TIP ----- Hobby Lobby's Floral prices are NOT budget friendly!


After setting up the tent and adding my floral arrangements, I noticed the blank space below the flowers seemed a little too plain jane. So at Hobby Lobby I spotted a macrame cream colored dream catcher with wooden accent beads and I knew it would be the perfect piece to top off the tent! In my opinion, ANY macrame wall hanging decor pieces are the best way to add that real boho feel to a photoshoot! P.s. Hobby Lobby had SEVERAL Macrame Wall Hangings to choose from ALL under $15 and with their typical sales you can most likely find one Under $10!

BEFORE


AFTER



Hobby Lobby Macrame Style Dream Catcher LINK: Ivory Tasseled Dreamcatcher | Hobby Lobby | 2185312


Here's a few affordable macrame pieces from amazon if you trouble finding one from Hobby Lobby!


Amazon Alternative LINKS:




Walmart Alternative LINKS:

If you're looking for some garland that's not so green, Check out this wisteria garland!


And if you're looking for a more woodland greenery style of garland, Check out this Green Garland! LINK: Mainstays Boxwood Artificial Garland, Green Color, 5 ft Long, All Occasion - Walmart.com


Rugs and Throw Pillows



Believe it or not, the rugs I used came from the Dollar General and the throw pillows that I used to fill the tent with, are from the Dollar Tree and Walmart! I couldn't find the links for the exact rugs and pillows, as stock items are periodically updated, and it seems the ones I purchased are no longer available. BUT --- If I were you, I'd still go check out your local Dollar General, Dollar Tree, and Walmart because you never know what steal of a deal you might find! Below I have linked some budget friendly alternatives!


Rug Alternative LINKS:







Throw Pillow LINKS:






The Tree Stump Cake Stand



So for the smash cake, since this is a first Birthday photoshoot, I didn't want a fancy cake stand or anything boring, so at my local Hobby Lobby I found a Sliced Tree Stump on the woodworks isle that was quite literally too perfect for this woodland setup! I couldn't find the Hobby Lobby Link but I linked one over from amazon that will work just as good if you can't find one at your local Hobby Lobby! TIP ----- My mother In-Law made our babies smash cake as tradition, but just be sure whoever is making your smash cake knows the dimensions of your desired cake plate so it fits on the plate evenly!




The Outfit



I wanted the perfect boho styled outfit and I think I found it for the MOST affordable price on Amazon, and the link to this one outfit gives you many CUTE and affordable options to choose from! Here's the link: Amazon.com: Newborn Infant Baby Girl Romper Bodysuit Jumpsuit Outfits Lace Romper Ruffle Sleeveless Backless Tutu Dress White Clothes: Clothing, Shoes & Jewelry


No shoes because she IS most definitely my WILD child, and a cute off-white bow from TjMaxx to match the outfit and BOOM! THE perfect little Boho Woodland Baby Model, Look how cute!


Some Items I Wish I Had Used



I know I said this is the perfect Boho Woodland photoshoot, and it absolutely was, BUT I cannot lie and say I didn't wish I had used this or that. One thing I would've incorporated if I thought about it beforehand is some wooden beaded garland! I feel like it would've added a little more detail and they definitely screams BOHO! Here's a Link if you'd like to add something that I didn't!


I know this one is going to seem very insignificant, but I wish I had added a battery powered candle inside of the lantern! A regular candle could've done the trick too, but I wouldn't have lit it for child safety reasons! I really believe in adding that little bit of extra detail to make everything tie together!




To Conclude this Blog Post, I would like to throw in a small disclaimer, The tree stumps pictured are from a handmade tree table from our home, and they are actually stools! BUT I suppose you could always find or cut your own tree stumps for props, I will say they really do tie this whole thing together! If you read this and took any inspiration from this blog, I would love to see your version of it. If you have any questions you can email me rusticrootedmama@gmail.com and if you came over from Pinterest and you enjoyed the read or found it helpful, give me a follow, there's much more to come from this Rustic Rooted Mama! Xoxo



33 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page